View Cart “Steel Vengeance – Prisoners – Cassette tape on Giant Records” has been added to your cart.
Green River - Come On Down - Cassette tape featuring Pearl Jam and Mudhoney one Homestead Records

Green River – Come On Down – Cassette tape featuring Pearl Jam and Mudhoney one Homestead Records




Product Description

Green River – Come On Down – Cassette

Brand new, never played and still sealed in the factory plastic seal
Homestead Records 1985
Original 1985 pressing, not an re-issue or repress

Green River was an influential Seattle band in the 1980s, lasting only four years and named after a (then at large) serial killer in Washington. They were one of the first grunge bands.

Green River arguably had little impact outside Seattle, though they did form a friendly alliance with emerging American indie rock bands, most notably Sonic Youth who would later quote the Green River song “Come On Down” in their 2000 song “Nevermind (What Was it Anyway?)”. However, the impact Green River had on the music made in Seattle would eventually be felt around the world. Their influence could be felt on both their contemporaries (Soundgarden, The Melvins) (though influence on the part of the Melvins was a two way street) and later Seattle bands (Nirvana, Alice in Chains). Before Nirvana, or indeed Mudhoney, Green River was the flagship band at legendary Seattle label Sub Pop, and through the bands who would form when the band split up (Mother Love Bone, Pearl Jam, Mudhoney) the members went on to influence millions of people world wide.

Green River were the among the first bands in Seattle to mix metal and punk, heavily influenced by Iggy Pop’s original proto-punk group The Stooges, leading to the sound known later as “grunge”. Mark Arm, the group’s vocalist, is widely credited as being the first person to use the term, though not in relation to the sound it has come to signify.

The members were Mark Arm (vocals), and original guitarist Steve Turner, both of whom went on to play in the Thrown-ups and later form Mudhoney (even further down the timeline they played together in the side project The Monkeywrench as well); Jeff Ament (bass) and Stone Gossard (guitar), who went on to Mother Love Bone and Pearl Jam, Bruce Fairweather (guitar), who also went on to Mother Love Bone, and Alex Vincent (drums).

Track Listing
1. Come On Down
2. New God
3. Swallow My Pride
4. Ride Of Your Life
5. Corner Of My Eye
6. Tunnel Of Love


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.