Scorn – Gyral – Cassette tape on Earache Records





Scorn – Gyral – Cassette

Mick Harris’ first Scorn release after the departure of bassist Nick Bullen is a refinement of previous concerns, with spare, repetitive rhythms and drum loops providing a tether for dark, brooding atmospherics and harsh, effects-heavy samples. Less immediately engaging, perhaps, than previous albums, Gyral works best as beat-oriented dark ambient, its strongest impact working on an almost subconscious or subliminal level.

Song List
1. Six Hours One Week
2. Time Went Slow
3. Far In Out
4. Stairway
5. Forever Turning
6. Black Box
7. Hush
8. Trondheim-Gavle

Leave a Reply