REM – Nightswimming – Vinyl Album picture disc on Warner Brothers Records





REM – Nightswimming – Vinyl Album Picture Disc

“Nightswimming” is a song by the band R.E.M.. It appears on their 1992 album Automatic for the People, and was released in 1993 as the fifth single off of that album. It was recorded at Criteria Studios in Miami, and was written on the same piano used by Derek and the Dominos on the recording of “Layla”.

The lyrics were written by Michael Stipe in 1991, but the music wasn’t created in time for release on Out of Time. There is a demo from Out of Time sessions called “Night Swim,” but that song has no relation to “Nightswimming,” other than the title. This may be the only R.E.M. song to have had its lyrics written before the music. According to the liner notes from their 2003 Warner Bros. greatest hits album In Time – The Best of R.E.M. 1988-2003, both guitarist Peter Buck and bassist Mike Mills presented different backing music to try to fit the lyrics. Both of Buck’s pieces were rejected; however, they later served another purpose, as they became the two backing tracks to “Drive” and “Try Not to Breathe.” Mills’ piece was exactly how the record would sound a year later.

Song List
World Leader Pretend (Live Previously Unreleased)
Belong (Live Previously Unreleased)
Low (Live Previously Unreleased)

Leave a Reply