Faster Pussycat – Whipped – Glam metal cassette tape on Elektra Records





Faster Pussycat – Whipped – Cassette

Sleazy Hollywood metal band (whose name was lifted from a Russ Meyer flick) Faster Pussycat released their first album in 1987 and peaked commercially two years later with the gold album Wake Me When It’s Over, and the Top 40 single “House of Pain.” Although their next album, 1992’s Whipped, hit number 90 on the charts, it fell off quickly; with the alternative rock explosion, the hard rock audience had changed and had no patience for Faster Pussycat’s trashy glam metal. After the group’s split, singer Taime Downe formed the industrial/goth outfit the Newlydeads (along with a former member of another former L.A. glam pop outfit, Bang Tango’s Kyle Kyle), issuing three albums — 1997’s self-titled debut, 1999’s remix collection Re-Bound, and 2001’s Dead End. With America experiencing a resurging interest in ’80s glam pop by the early 21st century, Faster Pussycat reunited for a tour. But instead of an album of all-new material coinciding with the tour, a collection of old tracks remade as techno remixes was issued, entitled Between the Valley of the Ultra Pussy

Track Listing
Nonstop To Nowhere
Body Thief
Jack The Bastard
Big Dictionary
Madame Ruby’s Love Boutique
Only Way Out
Maid In Wonderland
Cat Bash
Loose Booty
Mr. Love Dog
Out With A Bang

Leave a Reply