Of Cabbages And Kings – Basic Pain Basic Pleasure – Cassette tape on Triple X Records





Of Cabbages And Kings – Basic Pain Basic Pleasure – Cassette

Evolved from Chicago/New York band the Bag People and containing members of the Swans and Glenn Branca collaborators, Of Cabbages & Kings was a sporadically seen and short-lived band centered on Carolyn Master and Algis Kizys. Given that most members had full-time gigs with other, more prominent bands (Swans, Foetus, Prong), Of Cabbages & Kings was limited to a handful of releases from 1987 to 1992. Over the years, the band included such members as Ted Parsons of Prong, Live Skull drummer Rich Hutchins, and Diane Wlezien. Guitarist Master and bassist Kizys made up the foundation of the group, being the only constants in an ever-changing lineup. The band’s sound, not dissimilar to the aforementioned collaborators, was eclectic, moving from sharp dissonance to moody darkness.

Song List
1. The Reign
2. Snake
3. Of Service
4. Land Of The ’57 Chevy
5. Crawl
6. Crawl Again
7. Locked In Position
8. John Barleycorn Must Die

Leave a Reply