Old – Formula – Cassette tape on Earache Records





Old – Formula – Cassette

OLD formed from the remains of Plotkin’s previous band, the short-lived grindcore act “Regurgitation”. OLD’s first album, entitled simply Old Lady Drivers, continued in the humorous, parodic style of grindcore which characterized Regurgitation’s material.

After releasing a split EP with Assück in 1990, Plotkin recruited former Nirvana bassist Jason Everman for their second album, Lo Flux Tube (1991). This album featured more avant-garde and industrial metal influences in addition to their basic tongue-in-cheek grindcore, giving them a sound which was compared by some reviewers to a more uptempo Godflesh. Lo Flux Tube also featured saxophone work by guest musician John Zorn.

OLD continued their avant-garde direction with their third album, The Musical Dimensions Of Sleastak (1993). The third track from that album, “Freak Now”, appeared on the soundtrack to the 1994 film Brainscan.

Also in 1993, the band released Hold On To Your Face, an album of remixes. At the time, the practice of remixing was virtually unheard of in heavy metal music. The band’s final album, Formula (1995), delved into further experimentation with techno and industrial music. OLD broke up shortly after releasing this album. Plotkin went on to pursue a successful career not just as a musician, but also as a record producer and remix artist, working with many notable musicians across a number of different genres, particularly drone, noise, and sludge metal.

Song List
1. Last Look
2. Break (You)
3. Thug
4. Devolve
5. Underglass
6. Rid
7. Amoeba

Leave a Reply