Shonen Knife – ST – Cassette tape on Dutch East India Records



Out of stock



Shonen Knife – ST – Cassette

The all-female musical band Shonen Knife is a Japanese pop punk/garage rock band, who sing songs both in Japanese and English. Among their fans are Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Redd Kross, and Sultans of Ping. They cite as their main influences 1960s girl groups and punk rock such as The Ramones. They have also performed as a Ramones tribute band under the name The Osaka Ramones.

This self-titled set brings together earlier releases BURNING FARM and YAMA NO ATTCHAN. Almost all of the songs are sung in the trio’s native Japanese (though a few were later re-recorded in English for the band’s major-label debut, LET’S KNIFE). Sisters Naoko and Atsuko Yamano and their friend Michie Nakatani play with innocent spirit and verve. Their obvious love of simple rock & roll, romantic pop, candy, and toys is celebrated at every turn. Shonon Knife’s releases from the latter half of the ’90s, BRAND NEW KNIFE and HAPPY HOUR, show a maturity that never overwhelms the group’s innocence. However, this glimpse provided on this set shows all of Shonen Knife’s joyous impulses in the band’s nascent stage of existence. Shonen Knife is a real treat.

Song List
1. Watchin ‘Girl
2. Banana Fish
3. Miracles
4. Parallel Woman
5. Twist Barbie
6. Elephant Pao Pao
7. Tortoise Brand Pot Scrubbing Ceaner’s Theme
8. Animal Song
9. A Day At The Factory
10. Burning Farm
11. An angel has come
12. Cycling is fun
13. Elmar Elevator
14. Banana Leaf
15. Chinese Song
16. Flying Jelly Attack
17. Cannabil Papaya
18. Dali’s Sunflower
19. Insect Collector
20. Bye Bye
21. Parrot Polynesia


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.