The Wolfgang Press – Queer – Cassette tape on 4 AD Records





The Wolfgang Press – Queer – Cassette

Recorded with the aid of ex-Throwing Muses bassist Leslie Langston, Queer is the Wolfgang Press’ leap into the world of dance music. The cover of Randy Newman’s “Mama Told Me (Not to Come)” underscores the record’s stranger-in-a-strange-land vibe as Michael Allen’s dramatic vocals and arcane obsessions collide head-on with the ecstatic physicality and immediacy of the dancefloor; cold and remote, the result is alien funk, a collection of idiosyncratic rhythms, dark textures, and ominous grooves.

Song List
1. Girl Like You, A
2. Birmingham
3. Mama Told Me Not To Come
4. Heaven’s Gate
5. Riders On The Heart
6. Question Of Time
7. Louis XIV
8. Fakes And Liars
9. Honey Tree
10. Birdie Song
11. Dreams And Light / Sucker
12. Mother Valentine
13. Angel
14. Sucker F. M.

Leave a Reply