SWA – Evolution 85-87 – CD on SST Records





SWA – Evolution 85-87 – Compact Disc

Blending the punk sounds of the SST label (Black Flag, Minutemen) with those of ’70s hard rock sludgemeisters, SWA debuted in 1985 with Your Future (If You Have One). Led by former Black Flag bassist Chuck Dukowski and vocalist Merrill Ward, the group released Sex Dr. the following year and then added guitarist Sylvia Juncosa (also with To Damascus). XCIII followed in 1987, after which Evolution 85-87 summed up the first three albums. Juncosa left soon after to begin a solo career, with Phil Van Duyne replacing her on 1989’s Winter. It was SWA’s last album, though Juncosa released solo albums in 1988 and 1989.

SWA includes: Chuck Dukowski, Merrill Ward, Sylvia Juncosa, Greg Cameron, Richard Ford.

Song List
1. Simon’s Thing
2. Sine Cosine X
3. Until You Bleed
4. Creeps
5. Islands In The Freeway
6. Ten Miles Of Hate
7. Catacombs
8. Sea & Sky
9. Sex Doctor
10. Oklahoma
11. Big Ride
12. Evil & The Good, The
13. Faker’s Blues
14. Optimist
15. Evolution
16. Arroyo
17. So Long
18. Succumb

Leave a Reply