Tiny Lights – Hot Chocolate Massage – Vinyl album on Rough Trade Records





Tiny Lights – Hot Chocolate Massage – Vinyl Album

Tiny Lights was a music group formed by John Hamilton (guitar/vocals) and Donna Croughn (vocals/electric violin) in 1985. Original members include Dave Dreiwitz (bass/trumpet), Jane Scarpantoni (cello) and John Mastro (drums). Based in Hoboken, New Jersey, the group released a total of seven albums, two of which were later released on Psychic TV’s Temple Records. From 1988 to 1994 Tiny Lights toured the United States extensively. Other members include Stuart Hake (cello), Andy Demos (drums), Catherine Bent (cello), Andy Burton (piano, organ), and Ron Howden (drums formerly the drummer for Nectar).

The group’s members employed a rich array of instrumentation, including cello, electric violin, trumpet, soprano saxophone, tabla drums and bass clarinet. Improvisation was a constant feature of their live performances. One critic has memorably described the band as “Sly and the Family Partridge.”

Dave Dreiwitz went on to play bass for the band Ween. Jane Scarpantoni has enjoyed an illustrious career, recording and touring for countless artists, including Lou Reed, Bob Mould, 10,000 Maniacs, R.E.M., The Indigo Girls, Bruce Springsteen, and the Lounge Lizards. John Hamilton and Donna Croughn are raising their two children in Cambridge, Mass., where John works as a Professor of Comparative Literature at Harvard University.

Song List
1. Lavenderman
2. Moonwhite Day
3. Sweet Romance
4. Bartholomew
5. Wave
6. Closer
7. Evil
8. Big Straw Hat
9. After All

Leave a Reply